NOT of the Boyardee variety

MEATBALLS! Say it out loud. The sound of it likely produces a smile and possibly pries loose memories of those little rounded mounds of mystery that came from a Chef Boyardee can. DC recently got a new meatball shop that came with a bit of controversy. Well maybe it’s more about some behind-the-scenes none-of-our-business deal but there does seems to be a tad of drama surrounding ownership of this 6th & E Street eatery. Nevermind the who, let’s talk about what’s right now. Chef Michel Richard who already gets a lot of my money at two of his other restaurants, Central and Citronelle has another place for me to meet and eat – MeatBalls. Now I often travel between New York and DC and have been a semi-regular at the Meatball Shop located in the West Village in NYC. I usually get what’s listed on the menu as “naked balls” covered with marinara and grated parmesan.  I prefer the chicken balls and get them with a side salad made with arugula and apples and sometimes accompanied by a glass of prosecco. So I was already a kinda sorta meatball lover. At DC Meatballs I was greeted by cheerful feed-you-like-your-momma servers who asked if it was my “first time” and began to explain and expound on what I was viewing behind the plexiglass. When I was told they also made crab-balls which presented a slight quagmire. Well they stuck a toothpick into a crab-ball and shoved it across the counter and said, “try it.” Yep, pushing food on me just like my mom would. The crab wasn’t bad but I decided on a bowl of chicken balls with marinara but added per suggestion some hot peppers to go on top. I strayed a little from my usual off the menu meat meal and ordered a side of collard greens. So what did I think? Well the chicken balls are flavorful and moist and the portion not skimpy at all. There were about 5 of the little rounded chickadees in my bowl and the peppers added an interesting kick up of flavor. Now the side of collard greens not so much. More like green remnants and stalk with some bacon thrown in, one taste was enough of a NO for me. However, on my second stealth visit I tried the spinach which didn’t disappoint and I tried the lamb-balls on a roll – tasty. My suggestion is to stick with the marinara sauce as a quick dip of the others tasted so-so. So right now I’m wondering what will Sietsema say? MeatBalls at 624 E Street NW

YUM Factor = 3

3 thoughts on “NOT of the Boyardee variety

  1. Great review of “Meatballs!” I enjoy finding new places to dine in DC. But, do they serve veggie balls? Lots of vegans and vegetarians in DC!

Leave a comment